Meet the Staff

As the university’s central communications office, Public Affairs builds relationships with Cal Poly Pomona’s audiences through numerous efforts, including strategic communication, publications, branding, photographic services, social media and media relations. Our staff has earned dozens of APEX, CASE, Communicator and MarCom awards.

Dan Lee Dan Lee
Communication Specialist
(909) 869-3501
dblee@cpp.edu

  • Writer
  • Media contact
  • PolyCentric editor
  • Commencement Committee

Media relations and communications contact for:

  • Agriculture
  • Central Administration
  • Education (CEIS)
  • Letters, Arts and Social Sciences
Emily Velasco Emily Velasco
Communication Specialist
(909) 869-4205
emilyv@cpp.edu

  • Writer
  • Media contact
  • Social media manager
  • Web redesign project

Media relations and communications contact for:

  • Campus Safety
  • Central Administration
  • Division of IT
  • Engineering
  • Science
Esther Chou Esther Chou Tanaka
Interim Director of Public Affairs
(909) 869-3326
estherchou@cpp.edu

  • Publications
  • Executive Communications
  • Marketing Communications
  • Web redesign project
  • Semester conversion
  • Emergency communications
Gary Fong
Communication Specialist
(909) 869-3346
gcfong@cpp.edu

  • Writer
  • Media Contact
  • Senior editor
  • Marketing communications

Media relations and communications contact for:

  • Central Administration
Tom Zasadzinski Tom Zasadzinski
University Photographer
(909) 869-3404
tzasadzinski@cpp.edu

  • University photographer
  • Photo archives editor
  • Photographic print sales site coordinator
Ani Markarian Ani Markarian
Senior Graphic Artist
(909) 869-5439
amarkarian@cpp.edu

  • Graphic design
  • Graphics standards and logo usage advisor
Michelle Magcalas Magadia Michelle Magcalas
Web Coordinator
(909) 869-4634
msmagcalas@cpp.edu

  • Division of University Advancement websites coordinator
  • Public Affairs websites coordinator
  • Electronic marquee programmer
  • University master calendar
Tambra Williams Tambra Williams
Executive Assistant for AVP of University Relations
(909) 869-3345
tawilliams1@cpp.edu

  • General office coordinator
  • Publications distribution
Melanie Johnson
Communication Specialist
(909) 869-5331
mcjohnson@cpp.edu

  • CyberNews
  • PolyUpdates

Media relations and communications contact for:

  • ASI
  • Business Administration
  • Collins College
  • Environmental Design
  • Events
  • Extended University
  • Foundation
  • Library

 

Student Staff

Dan Lee Zoe Lance
Student Assistant
(909) 869-3342
zllance@cpp.edu

  • Writer
  • Master Calendar
  • Social media assistant
  • Newspaper tracking and archiving
Emily Velasco Carly Owens
Student Assistant
(909) 869-3342
cjowens@cpp.edu

  • Writer
  • PolyUpdates
  • Social media assistant
  • Newspaper tracking and archiving